Gluten-Free French Fries

Are French Fries Gluten-Free?

Sometimes, but be careful.

Fries are most commonly made of potatoes, seasoned with salt, and cooked in oil. These ingredients are typically gluten-free. Potatoes are naturally gluten-free, however, there are a few situations where fries are not gluten-free:

  1. If the potatoes are coated in flour before being fried, they are not gluten-free.
  2. If fried in a fryer that also fries gluten-containing foods, like onion rings, they are cross-contaminated and therefore not gluten-free.
  3. If cross-contact occurs at any other part of the cooking or plating process, they are not gluten-free.

Be careful at restaurants

When dining out, assume fryers are shared with gluten-containing food, unless told otherwise. Here are two questions to ask restaurant staff before setting your sights on those french fries:

  1. Are your fries dusted in flour, or a spice mixture containing flour, before being fried?
  2. Are your fries made in a shared fryer that also fries gluten-containing foods? Another way to ask this is "what other menu items are fried in the fryer?" If the response is fried chicken, onion rings, or other items you know contain gluten, the fryer is definitely not safe.


Condiments can be a sneaky source of gluten since thickening agents and soy sauce are commonly used. Always verify condiment ingredients are safe before you dip!

Find restaurants with dedicated fryers for french fries on our app!

Chain restaurants reported to have gluten-free fries at some locations:

Important: always verify directly with your location

Download it on the App Store
Get it on Google Play