Wayward Vegan Cafe

2.0 stars 2.0 out of 5 4 ratings
$$Gluten Free Menu, Dairy-Free, Vegan Friendly + 3 more
0% of 4 votes say it's Celiac friendly

801 NE 65th St, Seattle, WA 98115 Directions

(206) 524-0204
  • User profile picture thumbnail
    1 rating Not celiac friendly
    1 month ago

    They do not separate their gluten-free items, they are prepare everything on the same surfaces. If you are sensitive to cross-contamination beware.

  • User profile picture thumbnail
    4 rating Not celiac friendly
    1 month ago

    The menu now specifically warns that the kitchen does not have separate pans for gluten free cooking. I've not ordered tempeh, but we eat here fairly regularly (my husband has gluten sensitivity) and they are good about taking that seriously. This is a big, busy diner, and I understand why they cannot afford to have a separate cooking area for specific food allergies. The food is really, really good - and the portions are huge. If you have celiac, no, this is not the place for you. If you have intolerance, avoid the tempeh and enjoy the rest. "Anything marked GF can be made gluten-free with minor substitutions. Please specify gluten-free to your server when ordering. All gluten-free items are made on shared equipment."

  • User profile picture thumbnail
    Celiac
    1 rating Not celiac friendly
    1 year ago

    this was a while ago but I ordered off the gf menu and got very sick. found out the "gf" fries are made in a shared fryer and the "gf" tempeh sandwich has barley.

  • User profile picture thumbnail
    Celiac
    1 rating Not celiac friendly
    3 years ago

    This restaurant has a gluten-free menu, but DO NOT eat here if you have celiac or gluten sensitivity. They have french fries on their gf menu but do not have a dedicated gluten-free fryer! They also told us they were "unable" (or unwilling?) to adequately clean the griddle to avoid contamination, even though it was the end of the day and the restaurant nearly empty. We finally convinced them to use a clean pan to make our sandwiches, but my boyfriend, who has celiac, still got sick. We believe the tempeh listed on the gf menu, which he ate, contained barley or another glutinous grain. Again, DO NOT eat here if you have celiac or gluten sensitivity.

Gluten-Free Features

  • Gluten Free Menu

Categories

  • Cafe
  • Dairy-Free
  • Pescetarian Friendly
  • Plant Based
  • Vegan Friendly
Monday
9 am - 9 pm
Tuesday
9 am - 9 pm
Wednesday
9 am - 9 pm
Thursday
9 am - 9 pm
Friday
9 am - 9 pm
Saturday
9 am - 9 pm
Sunday
9 am - 9 pm

Be the first to add a photo!

Nearby restaurants

Do you own a gluten-free friendly business?
Contact us to talk about your advertising options.