I just found out that MacDonalds french fries are NOT gluten free due to the additives. Are there any other products that have surprised/disappointed/shocked you when you found out they were not gluten free!
katiemae I’m sorry, but you just broke my heart completely.
m49467 I use to work in fast food, under any circumstance, do not eat anything from any fast food chain. If it says gluten free, it's not. 1 reply
PrettyPickle Salad dressings, some Beef jerky/ meat sticks, a lot of BBQ chips, and a nexxus SHAMPOO that I just tried (had wheat protein, but I didn't even think to check the label). I have a wheat allergy, but can usually tolerate an occasional small amount of breading and am not typically impacted by cross contamination in a fryer (thankfully). I hadn't had McDonald's in years because of their menu, but was in a pinch and thought that I could handle a 4 piece nugget and some fries. I ended up being the sickest I've been in years afterward.
philmworks I have not had McDonald's in over 20 years. it did not surprise me that we cannot have their fries or their meats even without the bun. Wanna make a profit, use the McDonald's method and not sell anything real.
daniel5861 It may not be just additives. Cross contamination occurs if fries are cooked in the same oil as breaded food, like fish cakes. 2 replies
ShariMinnesota twizzlers....never knew they had wheat in them
rita105461 wow. I didn't realize that. thank you for telling me! I figured that since they had a designated fryer they were okay. what a disappointment!
MrVintage My kid works for McDonalds as a manager and he said they deep fry breaded chicken products as well in the same fryers so either way it’s cross contamination of gluten in the deep fryers
KadeSchneider Shredded cheese… some brands use wheat flour to keep it from sticking 💚
haleyd98 NONE ARE SAFE!!! they use the same fryer as the breaded chicken!! some places with safe gluten free fries: five guys, chick-fil-a (i’m lgbtq so i don’t go there), smash burger, chickie and pete’s
elliekathrin they're also not dairy free either.
happyhealthyhomemade Fried food is always dicey in a shared fryer
melody McDonald’s has told me in the past just don’t eat anything from there. Literally nothing is safe. 1 reply
hypercraft There are only two chain places I have found to have totally safe fries: Chick-Fil-A and Five Guys. That’s it. Everywhere else is cross contaminated or has some additive wheat starch to crisp them up 1 reply
melissa177021 Amy’s is gluten free fast food
Celly Hey, in lots of European countries, they use dedicated fryers… Even gluten free buns with dedicated bun toasters at newer stores (opened after 2014 IIRC).
jessica3228 Rice crispies have malt!
Gewwmelia Seasonal reeses. The cup shapes are safe but not the bats, egg, or tree shapes. 1 reply
courtney5 IHOP adds pancake batter to their scrambled eggs. 1 reply
bobbi895 soda pop with Carmel coloring. almost all licorice has wheat as the 1st ingredient.
vicki152544 I believe most fast food chains have switched from a rice coating to wheat coating. But given that, only McDonalds has dedicated deep fryers and they're fries are as noted, are a wheat coated product. Any fast food will sell you just a hamburger patty and cheese or lettuce leaves if they don't use shredded lettuce. Dairy Queen's soft serve IS gluten free and celiac safe. you can go to their website www.dairyqueen.com for ingredient info. They keep it current but during food shortages can't guarantee substitutions store by store. The soft serve is always GF so stick with vanilla or chocolate in a cup and you'll be fine.
aurorastone The fries in Canada do not have gluten in them and almost all of the standalone restaurants have a separate dedicated Fryer for fries.
katie162732 Haribo gummy bears
susan118493 Wendy's fries have been safe for my daughter who has celiac but she always asks whe going to a different Wendy's.
1kitkat1 ore idea brand has a French fry very similar to the McDonald's French fry if you are looking for a fix.
1kitkat1 I just found out some bourbon have wheat. I'm allergic to wheat.
melissa198874 nestle butterscotch chips use barley as a flavoring.
gfvegan7184 soy sauce is usually not gluten free, so at most Chinese & Japanese restaurants you can't get fried rice cause of the soy sauce. You can make it at home using coconut aminos or Tamari instead of soy sauce. Basically you have to check labels of everything cause tons of things have Wheat or gluten products. Making your own stuff at home is best. In addition, whole fruits & veggies are safe in the original state. If sauces are added, then you have to question it.