Is Rice Gluten-Free?

Is Rice Gluten-Free?


All rice is naturally gluten-free, which makes it a good option for those with celiac disease. While all rice in its natural form is gluten-free, there are two situations to watch out for.

  1. Cross-contact
  2. Rice with added spices, sauces or flavorings

Be careful with cross-contact

Sometimes rice can be cross-contacted with gluten during the growing and manufacturing processes. In grocery stores, look for rice labeled or certified gluten-free to be safe. Avoid purchasing rice from bulk bins, where cross-contact can occur if scoops are shared between gluten-free and gluten-containing grains.

While dining out, confirm with restaurant staff that there are no gluten-containing ingredients added to their rice. Ask about the cooking and plating process to ensure cross-contact does not occur.

Watch out for added flavorings or spices

Sometimes rice is made or sold with added flavors, colors, spices or sauces that may contain gluten. When buying flavored rice or rice mixes, be sure to look for a gluten-free label.

Download it on the App Store
Get it on Google Play