They actually do have gf options. So it was clarified by the same person, and the rice doesn’t have any gluten in it. So, I usually opt for my favorite arepa as a rice bowl without arepas. Just be sure to tell her that you need gluten free & no flour. The biggest issue here is consistency. So, for example, some days I can have the tostones and other days I can’t. But I eat here fairly regularly, since Midland has very little on the gf safe list and seem to do well with it.
I loveeeed Cafe Unique -- BEFORE I found out I have celiac disease. I was really excited when I read the previous review, because traditional arepas should be gluten free. But after two different visits in the past month or so, the main lady that worked there told me the staff uses flour for the arepas. While disappointed, I opted for my favorite arepa as a rice bowl instead. But she then told me that there is even flour in the rice! So, as far as I can tell there is absolutely nothing here to eat for those of us with celiac.