Best Gluten-Free Soy Sauce

Recent Posts
profile picture thumbnail

glutenshater Soy sauce: I know it’s not gluten free but if it’s in small amounts for ex: dip for sushi or in a marinate would that affect me? I’m new to this and want to take my health serious. 11 months ago

Comments

  • default profile picture thumbnail

    GFGreatness Kikkomans Gluten Free is my favorite. Kroger brand is cheap but has no gluten. I’ve never gotten sick by either brand. 3 replies

  • profile picture thumbnail

    gillian6446 I find numerous brands of GF soy sauce and marinades readily available in Auckland NZ , online makes it even easier especially the marinades , I would assume that’s a worldwide option for home delivery. Its worth asking in sushi restaurants, often they have one under the counter and put it in a saucer for me. Otherwise it’s amazing how you can get used to eating sushi without it, and it’s my go to safe option in a strange town, ginger helps. I’m also finding a lot of our sushi places will put gf on description card. Do not go for teriyaki options unless stated GF ,get used to tuna, salmon and vegetarian etc. I once got severely sick from Inari Sushi as there was no sign of soy but tofu pouch had gluten. Also I make https://www.seriouseats.com/teriyaki-sauce-how-to-make-at-home-recipe and put it in a little jar in my bag of this or straight soy if I’m planning on sushi. Embrace the diagnosis there are so many options these days.

  • profile picture thumbnail

    andrea128262 Yes, if you have Celiac, even trace amounts will impact your health. I try to take soy sauce with me to restaurants for meals like sushi. 3 replies

  • profile picture thumbnail

    TheHealitarySpouse There are gluten free soy sauces. Tamari is usually wheat free and therefore gluten free. You can also try Bragg’s liquid aminos (made from soy) or coconut aminos (there are several brands). If you are supposed to be 100% gluten free for your diet, then YES even a little bit will affect you and cause damage to your healing progress. If you are intolerant and are allowed to have small amounts on occasion, you have to learn your tolerance on your own. As a nutritionist and someone living with celiac, I would highly recommend not consuming it at all when you can avoid it so you know how your body reacts if you consume it accidentally. 8 replies

  • default profile picture thumbnail

    madi34544 I use liquid aminos. I never really liked soy sauce to begin with. It wasn’t that big of a change. Some can have the flavor of teriyaki. 1 reply

  • default profile picture thumbnail

    john767 #2 ingredient in soy sauce is typically wheat…San-J makes a great Tamari that is GFCO certified… 4 replies

  • default profile picture thumbnail

    barbarahiatt77 Yes it will if you have celiac

  • profile picture thumbnail

    up2starz As far as impacting your health goes, personally the longer I’ve had issues with food allergies, intolerances, and sensitivities, the worse they’ve gotten and the worse I felt. I didn’t take it seriously at all in the beginning and was in major denial until I was in pretty rough shape. You should very much take it seriously. If you take it seriously now, you’ll be healthier in the long run and hopefully do much better and feel better. Plus if you put in good habits at the beginning hopefully it will be a little easier on you. Take it one step at a time. 2 replies