being newly diagnosed with celiac I asked the girl what they had that was gluten free...she told me just the ice cream...I then asked her if I could get a salad with no croutons and grilled chicken on it...she then told me she wouldn't give me cheese either..I said I think cheese is ok...she gave me the salad I drove home and saw that she had crispy (breaded) chicken on it...totally clueless
My go-to items: ·Grilled chicken sandwich as a lettuce wrap. ·Grilled chicken salad (without croutons) ·Sausage patty by itself I don't know why people are mad at their fries not being gluten free, MD has never claimed they were, uses a shared fryer, and lists allergens on their website. It's not a secret, they'res wheat in them.
I know better than going to McD’s, but I stopped in with the kiddos assuming since it’s nearly 2020, they’d have at least SOMETHING on the menu that I could eat. When I asked if their salad was GF, was told by the MANAGER I had to look online find out. I said they should have someone on staff who knows what’s GF as this wasn’t an uncommon request, and I was told I was the first person to ever ask this question. Guess I’ll try McD’s again in another 5 years? 🤦🏻♀️
French fries are NOT gluten free, they are coated in a wheat beef flavoring. French Fries Ingredients: Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (canola Oil, Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Natural Beef Flavor [wheat And Milk Derivatives]*), Dextrose, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (maintain Color), Salt. *natural Beef Flavor Contains Hydrolyzed Wheat And Hydrolyzed Milk As Starting Ingredients. Contains: Wheat, Milk. Cooked In The Same Fryer That We Use For Donut Sticks Which Contain A Wheat And Milk Allergen. Beef patties do not contain gluten but risk cross contamination. They will use lettuce instead of bun if you request it. 100% Beef Patty Ingredients: 100% Pure USDA Inspected Beef; No Fillers, No Extenders. Prepared with Grill Seasoning (Salt, Black Pepper).
Kids were so happy about knowledgeable staff and dedicated fryer for French fries - they haven’t had those for two years! We will give it five stars when they have gluten free buns too!
None of the staff are knowledgeable about the gluten free options on the menu. After doing some research I have found that the M&M McFlurries are made in their own machine, and have no ingredients containing gluten- although the Cookies&Cream McFlurries are NOT gluten free. McDonald’s does provide a lettuce wrap burger, but with the young servers this burger is not certain of having no cross contamination.
IF you are VERY CLEAR that you have a severe allergy (I know celiacs is not an allergy-but that’s what makes sense to most people) they can change gloves, and prepare a safe burger with no bun for you. Please remember that McDonalds Fries are NOT GF! No matter how good they smell.
This should not be in here. McDonalds uses a flour (wheat) coating on their fries. It doesn't matter that the fryer is dedicated to them if there is wheat on them. I'm guessing the review is from someone who wants celiacs to get sick. There is no way for a celiac to eat at Mcdonalds.
Although I love their fries since I was a kid, I wish Mc Donald's had more items on their menu to choose from. I appreciate the breakfast bowls, hash-browns and flavored coffees for breakfast. Salads, fries and shakes for lunch and dinner. When in doubt, ask.
Terrible for any allergies. They had no idea what to do. They had to ask 2 or 3 people before someone told me to check their website. On my phone the website was useless and I never did find any allergen info. From another app I found I could have a sausage patty and a smoothie. Had to eat a snack from my stash to feel full. I'm appalled at such a big corporation completely ignoring the food allergy community.
They have the "create your taste" so got a burger wrapped in lettuce and side salad. Their website site says the oil they use has flavor inhancer that contains wheat so no fries. Didn't get sick so must not have been glutened. Not bad in a pinch.
I have celiac but I don't recall ever getting sick on the fries here even tho they do have some in the oil or something. supposedly they tested but it was below 20ppm gluten.however 4 days ago I got sick. I had 2 large fries and a chicken bacon salad with grilled chicken and Newman's ranch dressing. one of these items made me pretty sick and I won't blame it on any one specific item. possibly the grilled chicken or even the dressing. I will update perhaps sometime in the future. I will test the fries alone again at some point and will see as I don't remember ever getting sick from the fries. Future update: got sick from 2 large fries, tho I can't confirm 100% since I had wheat starch earlier in a candy I thought was gf. so for now avoid this chain, nothing is really safe for Celiac's. go to chick fil a instead.
Humblina was SOOOOO AWESOME with me! I'm soooo allergic to gluten I haven't been to McDonald's in years!, but I heard about their protein style burgers and she listened to me so carefully and made sure my food was totally separate and safe! Finally! A quarter pounder for first time in almost 5 years! Love this girl and thanks so much!
McDonalds is McDonalds. I am cautiously optimistic about the new Create Your Taste possibilities for the gluten free community (lettuce wrapped burgers anyone?), but I don't know how well we can expect them to keep from cross contamination. It is McDonalds after all. Don't eat the fries (definitely cross contaminated with the non-gluten free hash browns.) In short, ask, but don't expect a great deal of knowledge. Read the ingredients list on the website (and Gluten Free HQ) and ask about the preparation here. If you aren't highly sensitive, you can probably get away with it every now and then. (I periodically get a strawberry shake or coffee drink neither of which should have any cross contamination issues.)
I asked if I could see a gluten free menu . The employees response was "we don't have one" I said well are your French fries gluten free? The employee then handed me a packet with all of the food they sell with the calories next to each (which didn't answer my question what so ever!) I then told them that and they said "we can't answer allergy questions" well okay then; how am I supposed to eat? Me guessing your food is okay is not worth me getting sick over.
Mcdonalds French fries are evidentially par fried and then frozen. To do this, the must coat in flour. It may have been the oil the above comment says but it is definitely the flour coated French fries they serve. Sad!
I went there hoping to eat their French fries. So i informed them i had an allergy and they told me the fries were in a seprate fryer and i thought great. Didnt turn out so great. The oil they use isn't 100% gluten free.