Got sick within 4 hours after eating here, if you are celiac, DO NOT EAT HERE. I got severally ill and was almost sent to the ER after puking non-stop, dizziness, and slurred speech. If you are celiac I recommend looking somewhere else or making your own tacos at home.
Only the sodas, one of the cantina bowls, corn tortillas, and the Verde salsa are free of gluten. Everything else has wheat, including the meat and beans! Tread very carefully.!
Apparently the ground beef contains gluten, but you can sub shredded chicken on a crunchy taco. Their Power Bowls are great - you get fresh ingredients, and you can choose from chicken or steak. It's also my understanding that the chips and guac/salsa are gluten free too.
Quote from Taco Bell's allergen page that is listed in this app. Not sure why Taco Bell is listed in Find Me Gluten Free Taco Bell® does not claim “gluten-free” for any ingredients or menu items. There are Taco Bell® ingredients that are made without gluten containing ingredients but are prepared in a common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, with the risk of gluten exposure; therefore, Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering products.
The people at the counter said they had nothing gluten free. We left. At the time, the website would only show me breakfast options--hash brown,coffee, orange juice. That's because I eliminated both gluten and wheat before searching. Later, when I searched only to eliminate gluten, there were more options. However, I would not be willing to trust these uneducated employees to handle my food safely.
Quick option downtown. I ate the veggie cantina bowl. It was very good, and I haven't felt sick. The chicken and steak cantina bowls are supposedly gluten free as well. Check out their allergen list on their website. I'm not a celiac, so not sure if Taco Bell is celiac friendly in general.
Vegetarian Cantina Bowl - Large portion- Vegetarian - Convenient for a quick, cheap meal- Many locations- pretty dang healthy in comparison to most fast food.- menu easy to read to pull up / read on an iphone Had heard great things about the cantina menu in general, even before I took the plunge and admitted to myself that I have a gluten intolerance. I don't love fast food ... but after being in the car for a long period I was starving. Imagine my delight that after spotting a Taco Bell, I was able to very easily pull up a well organized, easy to read list on my phone , sorted by allergen type, and the ability to input the rate of severity! To top it off, it came in a vegetarian option ! score! I didn't have to be picky and ask for no chicken / or just pick it off myself. Since I only ate about half, and saved the rest for later I estimated it to be about 10 g of fat, and under 300 cals! Am very excited about this discovery. :D
After reading that pintos and cheese is gluten-free on a couple of non-Taco Bell websites, I ordered and ate them. Two hours later, I am sick! I get on the official Taco Bell website, which lists ingredients, and realize that the red sauce which comes on the pintos DOES indeed have gluten in it! Be warned! Go to the official site to check before eating. I have eaten the cantina bowl chicken and tostada and have had no problems with those.
Taco Bell does not have a gluten free menu, but they do have an allergen guide on their website. Please speak to the person taking your order regarding potential cross-contamination risks.