No reviews have been added for this business.
Just went into Zankou Chicken in Anaheim. I asked the person taking orders what is gluten free and she had no idea what I was talking about. She went to speak to the manager then came back and told me only the pita bread was gluten free. I thought she was kidding but she wasn’t. I asked to speak to the manager who also told me only the pita bread. I shook my head in disbelief and left. This is not a safe place for celiacs or people with gluten sensitivities to eat.
I get take out from here, and I'm currently very sick. I realized because I don't ask them to change gloves, it must be cross contamination. The only gluten in the store is their tabbouleh and the pita bread - I am super sick from eating a chicken plate so I just feel like even if I asked for a glove change, there is probably flour flying in the air, shared utensils, etc. goodbye for now :(
I don't know if the falafel is actually gluten free. I was excited to hear that "the only items with gluten are pita bread and tabouleh salad" so I are the falafel plate and I was pretty sick after - all the gluten symptoms I usually have. I won't try it again. Plus the falafel was really hard. Not worth it. Hummus was good, though.
Love the food. Super sensitive Celiac hubby has had reactions when we don't ask them to change gloves. However, they will change gloves if you ask and won't give you any grief about it. They use organic eggplant for the muttabal. GF falafel too! We have brought our own chips in to the restaurant to dip in the hummus, etc and no one has ever said anything. It's a super casual, Formica table type joint. We usually just get it to go.
I LOVE this place! I am VERY gluten sensitive and Ive never gotten sick, we eat there once a week.Its true they dont know what GF is, but they dont have to as long as they listen to me when I say NO PITA.I just tell them Im allergic and that its important that that pita is nowhere near my food. Id say its safe to eat there as long as you are clear about the pita.
ALL of our menu items are gluten-free EXCEPT for the pita bread and Tabouleh Salad. Next time you visit, you may ask for "No Bread" on the 'Chicken', 'Plate', or 'Side' items. All wraps are made with pita bread, and therefore contain gluten.